Sharing Settings

Introduction to Sharing Client Data

 

There's a range of client data sharing that can happen in Clarity Human Services, from sharing all client data across all agencies to keeping data private within a Program. System Administrators need to understand these settings and their implications to ensure compliance with data sharing and security policies. In this series of articles, we’ll look at how system administrators configure sharing at the agency, program, and client levels.

Note:

  • While Access Roles don’t impact how the client data itself is shared, they affect how staff members access that data. In other words, whether or not a staff member can view, edit, or delete data depends on both sharing settings and the staff member’s access role. We strongly recommend reading the articles in the Access Roles series before entering client data to ensure staff members have the proper access level.
  • Users viewing client data in a System Administrator role will be able to see all data, regardless of sharing settings. 


In this article, we'll cover the following topics:  

Sharing Defined

All client data is input by a staff member (this also applies to imported data, which is typically associated with a test user). All data is entered on behalf of a single agency (either the agency where the staff member is assigned or a different agency to which the staff member has Additional Agency Access ). Using the audit log feature (located in the lower right-hand corner of each record component where data has been recorded), System Administrators can see the entered data history, including who entered it and when it was entered.

Three things impact the ability of other users in the system to view, edit, and report on that data: access roles, client record privacy, and sharing settings. This article addresses the impact of sharing settings.

Sharing Client Data within the Record: Section-by-Section

Throughout sharing settings, there are five main sections of sharing configuration: Clients Created, Service/Programs/Assessments Placed, Notes, Files, and Location. The sharing of data created by an agency in each section of the client record is controlled by that agency’s sharing settings for these components. The table below defines the client record components impacted by each setting.

Sharing Setting

Record Component

Clients Created

Client recordclient profile

Service/Programs/Assessments Placed

Historyservicesprogram enrollments, assessments, referrals, ROIAssigned Staff

Notes

Notes (entered from the Notes tab or as Program Notes within an enrollment)

Files

Files (entered from the Files tab or as Program Files within an enrollment)

Location

Contact, Location

Managing Sharing Settings

Sharing settings are managed at the agency level and are accessible only to system administrators. To access an agency’s sharing settings, first ensure that you’re accessing the correct agency’s settings, switching into the correct agency, if necessary. 

Navigate to the SHARING tab within Agency Management.

Within the sharing settings, you’ll find five sub-sections as well as two Advanced Options. In this series of articles, we’ll be looking specifically at the sharing settings that impact the way agencies share and view client data: Sharing Groups, Agency Exceptions, Departments,  and Community Queue Matchmaker. A separate article addresses each of these sections, as their configuration impacts client data sharing in unique and specific ways.

The Standard Sharing Settings

In Sharing Groups, as well as Departments and Agency Exceptions, the sharing settings for record components have three standard options: “Not Shared,” “Basic Shared,” and “Full Shared.”

Not Shared: data entered by that agency for that record component is not shared.

Full Shared: data is fully shared.

Basic Shared: allows staff to see that data has been entered, but, for the most part, they’re unable to edit or view additional details of the data.

Note: The chart below describes how the system records and saves client data. Staff members’ ability to view, edit, and delete that data depends on sharing settings and access roles.

 

Record Component 

Not Shared

Basic Shared

Full Shared

Clients Created

Client records created by staff members at my agency do not show up in search results of staff members at other agencies.

Client records created by my agency will be visible in client search results for staff members at other agencies, but they will not be able to click on it to access the full record.

Client records created by staff members at my agency are accessible to staff members at other agencies, including data entered in the Client Profile.

Service/Programs/
Assessments Placed

Service, enrollment, assessment, referral, and ROI data entered in client records by staff members at my agency are not accessible to staff members at other agencies. 

Service, enrollment, assessment, referral, and ROI data - but not full details - entered in client records by staff members at my agency are accessible to staff members at other agencies, but cannot be edited, regardless of access role.

Service, enrollment, assessment, referral, and ROI data - including full details - entered in client records by staff members at my agency are accessible to staff members at other agencies.

Notes

Notes entered in client records, either from the Notes tab or Program Notes (the Notes tab within an enrollment) by staff members at my agency are not accessible to staff members at other agencies.

Notes - but not their full details - entered in client records, either from the Notes tab or Program Notes (the Notes tab within an enrollment) by staff members at my agency are accessible to staff members at other agencies.

Notes - including full details - entered in client records, either from the Notes tab or Program Notes (the Notes tab within an enrollment) by staff members at my agency are accessible to staff members at other agencies.

Files/Forms

Files and forms entered in client records, either from the Files tab or Program Files (the Files tab within an enrollment) by staff members at my agency are not accessible to staff members at other agencies.

Files and forms entered in client records, either from the Files tab or Program Files (the Files tab within an enrollment) by staff members at my agency are accessible to staff members at other agencies, but cannot be edited or deleted, regardless of the staff member’s access role.

Files and forms entered in client records, either from the Files tab or Program Files (the Files tab within an enrollment) by staff members at my agency are accessible to staff members at other agencies and can be edited and deleted, if the staff member’s access role permits.

Location/Contact

Location and contact data entered in client records by staff members at my agency are not accessible to staff members at other agencies.

Location and contact data - but not full data - entered in client records by staff members at my agency are accessible to staff members at other agencies, but cannot be edited or deleted, regardless of the staff member’s access role.

Location and contact data entered in client records by staff members at my agency are accessible to staff members at other agencies and can be edited and deleted if the staff member’s access role permits.

Note:

  • Public Alerts are, by default, shared across the system unless the specific alert is marked as private, in which case the alert would then be private to the agency.
  • *If a client record has a program referral to an agency that is not sharing Services/Programs/Assessments Placed with another agency, anywhere the system displays the Referred To Agency, Referred To Program, Referral Notes, or the name of a staff member associated with that agency in a referral, users from the other agency will see “Undisclosed Program” and “Undisclosed Agency.”

 

Up Next: Sharing the Client Record