Configuring Referrals and Community Queues

Referral Settings: Overview

 

The Referrals functionality in Clarity Human Services allows users to refer clients directly to programs and to Community Queues, where referrals are triaged and prioritized. The configuration options within Referral Settings enable system administrators to customize how users interact with the referral process, allowing communities to tailor their information system to match their system of care.

The configurations made in Referral Settings impact the function of both direct referrals and Community Queue referrals. This article shows you how to access Referral Settings and introduces you to its main components. 

Notes

  • Only system administrators have access to Referral Settings.
  • Understanding the referrals process is foundational for understanding Referral Settings. We strongly recommend reading our Introduction to Making Referrals article. 


To access Referral Settings, click the launchpad, navigate to SETUP > SETTINGS, then click Referral Settings in the Advanced Options sidebar.



System administrators can edit but not delete the system “Default” referral settings. In the absence of additional referral settings, the configurations made to the “Default” settings apply systemwide. 

Different Continuums of Care or groups of agencies using the same system may require distinct referral processes. If this is the case, you can create additional referral settings. Whether system administrators establish different referral settings at the CoC or Sharing Group-level is defined by the Coordinated Entry Type system administrators select in System Setup Settings

To create additional referral settings, click ADD NEW REFERRAL SETTINGS.

Select the appropriate CoC or Sharing Group and complete the configuration options described below. 

Referral Settings

The REFERRAL SETTINGS screen appears, with a list of settings to enable as appropriate.

Note: the initial configuration of a new Referral Setting mirrors the settings in Default.


Community Referral Queue: Refer to our Referral Settings: Community Queue article for details on the Community Referral Queue setting.

The following settings impact all referrals for the CoC or Sharing Group, regardless of whether Community Referral Queue is enabled. You may find it helpful to toggle these settings on and off to see which additional options are associated with each.

Pending Referral Notifications: when this setting is enabled, the system notifies specific users if referrals assigned to an agency are pending and/or in-process for more than the specified time or specified frequency. If you turn on this setting, the system displays the following additional settings:

  • Notification Frequency: select whether the system will send notifications daily or weekly.
  • Notify Days in Pending: select how many days should pass after a referral’s Status is set as “Pending” before users start receiving the notification. 
  • Notify Days in Process: select how many days should pass after a referral’s Status is set as “Pending - In Process” before users start receiving the notification. 

Contact Information Warning: When this setting is enabled, the system displays a message in the Client Profile when contact information is missing for a client with an active Community Queue or pending program referral. Users can click on the notification and add information in the CONTACT tab. 

Automatic Referrals: This setting allows communities to enable assessments to automatically refer to a queue (or multiple queues if applicable). Refer to the AUTOMATICALLY REFERRED ASSESSMENTS section below for more information.

Referral Dashboards: This setting displays the Dashboards tab in REFERRALS. System administrators can configure one or multiple dashboards to display. See Referral Settings: Dashboards for more information. 

Bed & Unit Management: This setting enables the Unit Queue, which allows you to refer clients to a specific Unit based on Unit Eligibility criteria and Unit availability.

Direct Referral Expiration Threshold: This setting designates when the system will expire a “Pending” or “Pending In Process” direct referral (i.e., a referral referred directly to a program and not reassigned from the Community Queue) that is within the Referral Setting CoC/Sharing setting (dependent on the Coordinated Entry Type set). 

  • The default setting is “None.” The threshold choices are between 1 and 720 days.
  • The system records the following values for a direct referral that is expired due to this threshold:
    • Status = Expired
    • Denied By Type = Provider
    • Denied Reason = Referral Time Expired
    • Expired Date = Date of Expiration

Enable the desired settings, then click ADD RECORD. Two sections will appear on the page:  TRACKED CHARACTERISTICS and DENIAL NOTIFICATION EXTENSIONS.


TRACKED CHARACTERISTICS

The Tracked Characteristics feature allows system administrators to create referral conditions, providing an additional filtering layer for referrals. For more information, see Tracked Characteristics.


DENIAL NOTIFICATION EXTENSIONS

This section allows you to customize denial notification emails according to the reason for denial.
  • Click ADD NEW EXTENSION.
  • Select a Denial Reason.
  • Type the desired message and click SAVE CHANGES.
  • Repeat as needed for additional denial reasons.

AUTOMATICALLY REFERRED ASSESSMENTS

If you enabled Automatic Referrals (described above), the AUTOMATICALLY REFERRED ASSESSMENTS section appears after you click ADD RECORD to create a new Referral Setting.

To select an assessment for automatic referral, click ADD ASSESSMENT. The MODIFY ASSESSMENT window appears.

The MODIFY ASSESSMENT window displays the following:

  • An Assessment drop-down list of assessments that are not already connected to a queue
  • An alphabetical list of queues associated with the Referral Setting

Notes:

  • An assessment must have Eligibility Engine enabled to appear in the list of queues.
  • Assessments must be disconnected from all queues before they can be included in the list of queues.

    Select the desired assessment from the Assessment drop-down menu, then select the queue(s) to which the assessment’s referrals will be assigned. Click SAVE.

    The selected assessment and its associated queues will appear in the AUTOMATICALLY REFERRED ASSESSMENTS section. 

     

    Note: Once you add an assessment to the AUTOMATICALLY REFERRED ASSESSMENTS section, you will not be able to turn off Eligibility Engine for the assessment. 


    A user must have the Refer Directly to Community Queue access right for automatic referrals to occur. Users without this permission who complete an assessment with Automatic Referrals enabled will see a warning banner, and no referrals will be made. 

    If the referral wasn’t sent to a queue automatically (the user doesn’t have the needed access right or the user clicked Cancel on the Referral Creating page), a user with Refer Directly to Community Queue permission can open the eligibility page and create a referral to Community Queue manually. 

    Note: Users creating manual referrals will not be able to determine which queues receive the referral; the referrals will be sent to the queues selected in the AUTOMATICALLY REFERRED ASSESSMENTS setting.

    All other settings are specific to Community Queue functionality. For more information, see Referral Settings: Community Queue.

    Audit Log

    Users with the appropriate access may click the Audit Log button at the bottom of a REFERRAL SETTINGS page to track the following: