Configuring Referrals and Community Queues

Referral Settings: Multiple Community Queues

 

Overview

Multiple Community Queues can help communities manage distinct processes of referral and placement. For example, a community may have one queue for emergency shelter beds and another for permanent housing units. Multiple Community Queues may also manage referrals to other, non-housing-related programs. 

With multiple Community Queues, users can place clients on up to five queues at once. Each queue is separate from the other. Communities can create up to 10 queues.* 

Multiple Community Queue Setup

Click on the launchpad and navigate to SETUP > SETTINGS, then click Referral Settings in the Advanced Options sidebar.

 

Click the edit icon beside the Referral Settings you would like to configure for multiple community queues (or, if creating new settings, click “Add New Referral Settings”).

In the REFERRAL SETTINGS section, toggle on Multiple Community Queues.

 

Click SAVE CHANGES.  The COMMUNITY QUEUES section will appear. System administrators can rename the “Default” Community Queue but not delete it. To add a new queue, click ADD NEW COMMUNITY QUEUE.

Note: if there is only one community queue, even if Multiple Community Queues is toggled on, all data is automatically part of the “Default” community queue.

 

In the ADD COMMUNITY QUEUE section, enter a name for the queue.

 

The following settings, which are explained in Referral Settings: Community Queue, are configured for each queue:

  • Status
  • Allow Referral to Community Queue
  • Allow Moving to Queue
  • Automated removal from the Community Queue
  • Prioritization List
  • Community Referral Threshold
  • Display Option to "Send to Queue" at Denial or Expiration
  • Inactive Referral Expiration Threshold
  • Matching Process
  • Program Availability Management
  • Use Most Recent Assessment
  • Community Queue Snooze
  • Use Custom Fields on Program Availability

Referring Clients to Multiple Queues

If the system has multiple community queues, the user will choose which queue(s) to refer the client to. Users may refer a client to more than one queue at once.

If a user selects multiple queues during the referral process, the system will generate a unique referral for each queue. 

Managing Multiple Community Queues from The Global Referrals Tab

If there are multiple community queues in the system, you will see a Community Queue “switcher” in the REFERRALS Community Queue tab. Clicking on the queue will display only the referrals to that queue. 

Editing and Deleting Multiple Community Queues

System administrators can edit or delete additional Community Queues. However, if at least one referral is active on a queue, system administrators cannot delete the queue or disable Multiple Community Queues until the referral is removed or resolved. 

Deactivating and Reactivating Multiple Community Queues

If there are no referrals outside the Default Community Queue, system administrators can disable Multiple Community Queues. If the system administrator later re-enables Multiple Community Queues, the system will restore the previously created Community Queues. 

 

*while it is possible to create more than 10 queues, we do not recommend creating more than 10, for display and usability purposes.