Coordinated Entry Resources

Prioritization Status

 

What is Prioritization Status? 

The HUD HMIS Data Standards Prioritization Status field is part of the 4.19 Coordinated Entry Assessment data element, one of the Coordinated Entry Data Elements included in the 2020 Data Standards update.

This field captures if a client was placed on a community’s prioritization list for housing resources as the result of a Coordinated Entry assessment. This field’s response can either be “Placed on prioritization list” (1) or “Not placed on prioritization list” (2).

How is Prioritization Status Captured in Clarity Human Services?

The system infers a value for this field based on a user’s actions after completing a Coordinated Entry-enabled program assessment. In other words, users do not directly enter a value in the system for this field.

Where Can I See This Field in Clarity Human Services?

Users can see the value the system recorded for this field in the HUDX-111 Program Data Export report and the Client and Coordinated Entry Data Analysis models. 

The current prioritization status a well as any changes to prioritization status also display in the Audit Log of the assessment where prioritization status was determined.

What are the Required System Configurations to Capture Prioritization Status?

Screens

If a community isn’t using a Bitfocus System SPDAT screen for their Coordinated Entry process, a system administrator must configure an assessment screen to capture the “Coordinated Entry Assessment” data element, including “Prioritization Status.” The system administrator must toggle on Coordinated Entry and Eligibility Engine for the assessment screen. For more information, see the “Assessment Screens” section of Coordinated Entry Screens.

Referral Settings

For the system to record a Prioritization Status value of “1 - Placed on Prioritization List,” Prioritization List must be toggled on for the Community Queue a referral is sent to. This is toggled on individually for each queue within the Community Queues section of Referral Settings.

What are the Required Agency Configurations to Capture Prioritization Status?

The Coordinated Entry-enabled assessment must be toggled on under the Assessments tab of the agency where users complete the assessment. For Federal reporting, users must complete the assessment within a program enrollment. Therefore, the assessment also needs to be added to the Program Assessments section of the applicable program.

How Do Users Capture a Client’s Prioritization Status?

For the system to record that a client’s assessment was placed on a prioritization list, users must follow a specific workflow:

  1. For Federal reporting, the user must complete the applicable assessment within a program enrollment. The HUD CSV/SML Data Export does not look at assessments completed from the agency-level Assessments tab in the client record. 
  2. For the system to record a value of “1 - Placed on Prioritization List,” the user must refer the client to a Community Queue with Prioritization List toggled on. 
  3. If the user completes the assessment but does not refer the client to a Community Queue or refers the client to a Community Queue with Prioritization List toggled off, the system records a value of “2 - Not Placed on Prioritization List.”

What Actions Impact Prioritization Status?

After the system records a Prioritization Status value, changes may occur in the system, either for the referral, the Community Queue, or both. System administrators should consider the following actions and their impacts when designing their Coordinated Entry workflow.

Clients Placed on the Prioritization List

  • When a user sends a referral to a Community Queue with Prioritization List toggled on, resulting in the system recording a value of “1 - Placed on Prioritization List” for the assessment, the system retains that value in the following circumstances:
    • The referral is reassigned to a program, resulting in either an enrollment, denial, or expiration
    • The referral is removed from the Community Queue 
  • The system records a new value of "2 - Not Placed on Prioritization List” for the assessment in the following circumstances (unless there is another referral to a Community Queue with Prioritization List toggled on made from the assessment record):
    • A system administrator later toggles off Prioritization List for that queue in Referral Settings 

Clients Not Placed on the Prioritization List

  • When a user sends a referral to a Community Queue with Prioritization List toggled off, resulting in the system recording a value of “2 - Not Placed on Prioritization List” for that assessment:
      • If the referral is removed from the queue and later assigned to a queue with Prioritization List toggled on, the system records a value of “1 - Placed on Prioritization List” for the assessment record.
      • If the assessment is referred to both a Community Queue with Prioritization List toggled off and a Community Queue with Prioritization List togged on, the system records a value of “1 - Placed on Prioritization List” for the assessment record.
      • If a system administrator later toggles on Prioritization List for that queue, the system records a value of “1 - Placed on Prioritization List” for the assessment record